2018 CTSC Annual Report 58th Year

2018 saw another successful running of the Boonoona Open on Sunday 5 August. In ideal conditions over 100 Cross Country skiers took part and competed strongly on the well-prepared course and afterwards thoroughly enjoyed themselves in the Nordic Shelter reliving the high points over hot drinks and warm conversation.

A warm reception for all competitors was held at Boonoona that evening topped off with the placegetters receiving their prizes from Peter Ward, Peter Cunningham, Tim Greville and Club President Michael Sterndale-Smith. Many thanks to our Race Director Marianne Alexander for organising the prizes and entries for the Open and to Peter and Leslie Ward, Peter and Rhonda Cunningham, Adele Bottom and Adrian Blake for their on-going contribution to the race ensuring that everything – the course, administration, the start – finish and communication to the racers was the best it could be. Lodge managers Matt and Luey Geerke delivered superb hospitality of finger food and drinks to all the competitors that evening, culminating in a tremendous day all-round.

The 44th running of the Skiers –v- Swimmers Boonoona Slalom Club Championships were held on the Upper Roller Coaster course at Blue Cow on Saturday 1 September. 27 skiers competed in the annual event which saw the Swimmers narrowly win in this hotly contested event. This year Toby McIlwaine turned over the title of the fastest male on the mountain to his dad David who set a winning time of 25.81 seconds through the gates! Toby was unable to reach the start line with State title races occurring at overlapping times at Perisher Valley – watch out next year David! .02 seconds later in second place was Scott Ballesty  and .03 seconds behind him was Hugh Sterndale-Smith in third place. Fastest female saw the title stay well and truly in the McIlwaine family with Hannah setting a blistering 27.21 seconds to take first place. John Keevers was smiling this year with Yvette Keevers coming second at 31.47 and further adding to the McIlwaine trophy cabinet was Denise McIlwaine with third place at 42.43 seconds.

Again a big mention for the hard-working CEO of City Tatts Marcelo Veloz. Marcelo committed over $200,000 to Boonoona in late 2017, mainly on the building itself (walls, roof, kitchen) and on the oversnow! These works were ongoing in 2018 and hopefully will be finished for the start of the season in 2019. Marcelo has been down at Boonoona a few times in 2018 making sure these necessary works stay top of the list and get done as soon as possible.

When it comes to ‘crunching the numbers’ a big thanks to Sally Beattie from Mark Cooper’s office who handled the finances of the Ski Club in 2018. Finally, thanks to Ski Club Vice-President Jimmy Chen and to CTC Chairman Pat Campion and the Board of City Tatts for their on-going support of the City Tatts Ski Club and Boonoona Ski Lodge.

Looking forward to a great snow season!

Michael Sterndale-Smith


City Tattersall’s Ski Club